Project 25 Technology Information Group

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

Project 25 Technology Information Group

Project 25 Technology Interest Group (PTIG) Elects a New Board of Directors and Officers.

The Project 25 Technology Interest Group (PTIG) held it’s Annual Meeting in conjunction with the APCO International Conference in Denver on August 13th.  At that meeting, a Board of Directors and Officers were elected. 


Del Smith stepped down as Chairman.  He will remain on the Board.  Del was recognized for his many years of leadership, support, and service.  Cindy Cast from Miami Dade County was elected as the new PTIG Chairman.  Cindy Cast serves as the Radio Systems Manager in the Information Technology Service Department, Radio Communication Services Division of Miami-Dade County, She is responsible for the management, maintenance, repair, and uninterrupted operation of the 800 MHz/700 MHz P25 trunked simulcast radio systems.  The 800 MHz Radio system has over 30,000 radio users.  Ms. Cast holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Management Information Systems (MIS) from Barry University and a Masters Certificate in Project Management from Florida International University (FIU).


With respect to the other PTIG Officers: Jim Holthaus from BK Technologies remains as Vice Chair, Jim is also deeply involved in the P25 standards process as TIA Private Radio Section and TIA TR8.25 chair.  Chris Lougee from 5x9 Communications remains as treasurer. Chris was formerly a VP at ICOM and the TIA PRS chairman before forming his new consulting group.  Andy Davis from Motorola Solutions remains as Secretary.  Andy is also a leader in the P25 Standards development process as the current TIA TR-8 Chairman.


Departing the PTIG Board were Jim Junkins, Roy McClellan, and Sanjay Patel.  Thanks and recognition were extended to them for all for their service.  New on the Board are Chris Maiers, SWIC from the State of Iowa, Karthik Rangarajan from EF Johnson, and Dominick Arcuri from DVA Consulting. 


Other P25 radio Users and practitioners returning to the PTIG Board include: Del Smith- Alaska ALMR, Christie Bielby-Texas DPS; Brent Finster-University of Hawaii, Scott Wright-State of Connecticut, Brad Stoddard-State of Michigan; Brandon Diemer-BLM NIFC, Eric Davies- DHS; Karl Larson-City of Portland; John Richards-State of Maine; George Crouch-State of South Carolina and Vice Chair Project 25 Steering Committee; Eric Linsley-Mobile County Alabama.  


PTIG Board returning Commercial Members include: Andy Davis-Motorola Solutions, Chris Lougee 5 x 9 Communications; Jim Holthaus BK Technologies, Cheryl Giggetts-AECOM; Neil Horden-Federal Engineering; Doug Chapman-Etherstack; Robin Grier-Catalyst, Todd Perdieu-Harris.


Stephen Nichols was appointed to continue as Executive Director for the non-profit organization.





Web Boy Design Website Development by Web Boy Design, Inc